Skip to main content

National public-finance evidence desk

Kenya Public Money Tracker

Where your taxes go — updated nightly from official sources. Public money, traced to evidence.

Total public debt

KES12.22T

Overall risk of debt distress: High · IMF–World Bank DSA, Oct 2024

Evidence for debt register operands · Verified observation / Qualified citation / Evidence unavailable

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bonds · debt category: domestic_bonds

retained source and observation matched

Central Bank of Kenya · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell 2025-12 / column 2: Domestic Treasury Bonds · page 57 · table Composition of Government Gross Domestic Debt

Retained version SHA256: a056dd65b8f5dca2e5356718a87f5d11b5a5162c89979efdbab412160dc318eb

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bonds · debt category: domestic_bonds

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · percent · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bonds · debt category: domestic_bonds

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bills (91-day, 182-day, 364-day) · debt category: domestic_bills

retained source and observation matched

Central Bank of Kenya · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell 2025-12 / column 1: Domestic Treasury Bills (91-day, 182-day, 364-day) · page 57 · table Composition of Government Gross Domestic Debt

Retained version SHA256: a056dd65b8f5dca2e5356718a87f5d11b5a5162c89979efdbab412160dc318eb

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bills (91-day, 182-day, 364-day) · debt category: domestic_bills

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · percent · actual

lender: Domestic Treasury Bills (91-day, 182-day, 364-day) · debt category: domestic_bills

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: CBK Overdraft Facility · debt category: domestic_overdraft

retained source and observation matched

Central Bank of Kenya · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell 2025-12 / column 4: CBK Overdraft Facility · page 57 · table Composition of Government Gross Domestic Debt

Retained version SHA256: a056dd65b8f5dca2e5356718a87f5d11b5a5162c89979efdbab412160dc318eb

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: CBK Overdraft Facility · debt category: domestic_overdraft

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · 2025-12 · percent · actual

lender: CBK Overdraft Facility · debt category: domestic_overdraft

value not reported

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · KES · actual

lender: Pending Bills — State Corporations (National Government — State Corporations) · debt category: pending_bills

retained source and observation matched

National Treasury · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell state_corporations · page 18 · text span KSh 365.6 billion

Retained version SHA256: 39c2e290ecdb6be0d8768344514711a5b0c6a350f0416ed81e529cded60def24

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · KES · actual

lender: Pending Bills — State Corporations (National Government — State Corporations) · debt category: pending_bills

historical source not value checked

National Treasury · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Qualified citation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · percent · actual

lender: Pending Bills — State Corporations (National Government — State Corporations) · debt category: pending_bills

historical source not value checked

National Treasury · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · KES · actual

lender: Pending Bills — MDAs (National Government — MDAs) · debt category: pending_bills

retained source and observation matched

National Treasury · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell mdas · page 18 · text span KSh. 109.9 billion

Retained version SHA256: 39c2e290ecdb6be0d8768344514711a5b0c6a350f0416ed81e529cded60def24

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · KES · actual

lender: Pending Bills — MDAs (National Government — MDAs) · debt category: pending_bills

historical source not value checked

National Treasury · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Qualified citation

KEN · 2026-06-30 · percent · actual

lender: Pending Bills — MDAs (National Government — MDAs) · debt category: pending_bills

historical source not value checked

National Treasury · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Verified observation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Advances from Commercial Banks · debt category: domestic_overdraft

retained source and observation matched

Central Bank of Kenya · pdf source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: cell 2025-12 / column 5: Advances from Commercial Banks · page 57 · table Composition of Government Gross Domestic Debt

Retained version SHA256: a056dd65b8f5dca2e5356718a87f5d11b5a5162c89979efdbab412160dc318eb

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · 2025-12 · KES · actual

lender: Advances from Commercial Banks · debt category: domestic_overdraft

historical source not value checked

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · 2025-12 · percent · actual

lender: Advances from Commercial Banks · debt category: domestic_overdraft

value not reported

Central Bank of Kenya · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IDA                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IDA                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IDA                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IBRD                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IBRD                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (World Bank-IBRD                         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (OPEC Fund for International Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (OPEC Fund for International Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (OPEC Fund for International Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Development Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Development Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (Nordic Development Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Fund for Agricultural Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Fund for Agricultural Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Fund for Agricultural Dev.) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Investment Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Economic Community (EEC)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Economic Community (EEC)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (European Economic Community (EEC)) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Eastern & Southern African Trade & Dev. Bank (TDB)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Eastern & Southern African Trade & Dev. Bank (TDB)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (Eastern & Southern African Trade & Dev. Bank (TDB)) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab Bank for Economic Dev. in Africa (BADEA)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab Bank for Economic Dev. in Africa (BADEA)) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab Bank for Economic Dev. in Africa (BADEA)) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab African International Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab African International Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (Arab African International Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Export-Import Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Export-Import Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Export-Import Bank) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Dev. Bank         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Dev. Bank         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (African Dev. Bank         ) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (United States) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (United States) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (United States) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (United Arab Emirates) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (United Arab Emirates) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (United Arab Emirates) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Spain) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Spain) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Spain) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Saudi Arabia) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Saudi Arabia) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Saudi Arabia) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Kuwait) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Kuwait) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Kuwait) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Korea, Republic of) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Korea, Republic of) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Korea, Republic of) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Japan) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Japan) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Japan) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Italy) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Italy) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Italy) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (India) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (India) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (India) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Hungary) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Hungary) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Hungary) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (France) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (France) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (France) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Finland) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Finland) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Finland) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Denmark) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Denmark) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Denmark) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (China) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (China) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (China) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Belgium) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Belgium) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Belgium) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Austria) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Bilateral (Austria) · debt category: external_bilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Bilateral (Austria) · debt category: external_bilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Eurobonds and other international bonds · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Eurobonds and other international bonds · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Eurobonds and other international bonds · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (United Kingdom) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (United Kingdom) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (United Kingdom) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Switzerland) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Switzerland) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Switzerland) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Spain) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Spain) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Spain) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (South Africa) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (South Africa) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (South Africa) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Netherlands) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Netherlands) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Netherlands) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Italy) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Italy) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Italy) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Israel) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Israel) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Israel) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Germany, Fed. Rep. of) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (France) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (France) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (France) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Belgium) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Belgium) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Belgium) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Austria) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Austria) · debt category: external_commercial

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Commercial banks (Austria) · debt category: external_commercial

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

outstanding · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Monetary Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

principal · Qualified citation

KEN · unreported reporting date · KES · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Monetary Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

historical source not value checked

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

interest rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · unreported reporting date · percent · actual

lender: Multilateral (International Monetary Fund) · debt category: external_multilateral

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

Observation evidence details · 381Observation evidence details · 383Observation evidence details · 384Observation evidence details · 398Observation evidence details · 399Observation evidence details · 439Observation evidence details · 524Observation evidence details · 525Observation evidence details · 526Observation evidence details · 527Observation evidence details · 528Observation evidence details · 529Observation evidence details · 530Observation evidence details · 531Observation evidence details · 532Observation evidence details · 533Observation evidence details · 534Observation evidence details · 535Observation evidence details · 536Observation evidence details · 537Observation evidence details · 538Observation evidence details · 539Observation evidence details · 540Observation evidence details · 541Observation evidence details · 542Observation evidence details · 543Observation evidence details · 544Observation evidence details · 545Observation evidence details · 546Observation evidence details · 547Observation evidence details · 548Observation evidence details · 549Observation evidence details · 550Observation evidence details · 551Observation evidence details · 552Observation evidence details · 553Observation evidence details · 554Observation evidence details · 555Observation evidence details · 556Observation evidence details · 557Observation evidence details · 558Observation evidence details · 559Observation evidence details · 560Observation evidence details · 561Observation evidence details · 562Observation evidence details · 563Observation evidence details · 564Observation evidence details · 565Observation evidence details · 566
Sum of 47 loan rows — pending bills excludedCBK publishes KES 12.30T for the same period — the gap is unreconciled.

Debt-to-GDP

Evidence for GDP observations · Verified observation / Evidence unavailable

gdp value · Verified observation

KEN · 2025 · KES · current prices

retained source and observation matched

World Bank · api source

Open source document

Source bytes: checked · Value: matched

Locator: date 2025 · country KEN · indicator NY.GDP.MKTP.CN · json path $[1][0].value

Retained version SHA256: 5d535b30bd921708e13b87d5d6d6f2c6ca5652e905a6ce555c1641b975362294

gdp growth rate · Evidence unavailable

KEN · 2025 · percent · current prices

value not reported

World Bank · unknown source

Open source document

Source bytes: not checked · Value: not checked

Observation evidence details
Evidence for debt-to-GDP observation · Qualified citation

published imf ratio outside seven table contract A source listing alone does not verify a figure.

71.3%

IMF General Government Gross Debt, % of GDP (GGXWDG_NGDP) — vintage-consistentSource: IMF World Economic OutlookA broader measure than the total on the left, so the two do not divide into each other.

Risk Level

High Risk

LowModerateHighIn distress

IMF–World Bank DSA, Oct 2024Published 1 Nov 2024. Latest confirmed by the IMF register as of 31 Mar 2026. Confirmation needs review; current status unverified.

How to read the evidence

Follow one public shilling from approval to audit

Trace the money · verify the source

  1. 01 · Allocation

    Parliament approves and government allocates

  2. 02 · Borrowing

    Loans, bonds and other public liabilities

  3. 03 · Spending

    Funds move through ministries and counties

  4. 04 · Audit outcome

    The public record shows what was questioned

Evidence for debt timeline observations · Evidence unavailable

No measure qualification supplied. A source listing alone does not verify a figure.

Kenya’s National Debt

— · Source: Central Bank of Kenya & National Treasury

Total Public Debt
KES 12.22TCBK timeline: —× since —
Debt-to-GDP
71.3%IMF general government basis
External Debt
KES 5.47T44.7% of total
Domestic Debt
KES 6.76T55.3% of total
KES — centsof every shilling of revenue goes to debt service
55.3% / 44.7%Domestic vs External debt split
Risk: HighOverall risk of debt distress · IMF–World Bank DSA, Oct 2024Published 1 Nov 2024. Latest confirmed by the IMF register as of 31 Mar 2026. Confirmation needs review; current status unverified.

Kenyan Government

— Fiscal Snapshot

Fiscal Health: ...

Select a county

Hover over or click a county on the map to view its financial details and audit findings.

Learn how Kenya manages your money

Understand national debt, county budgets, and audit reports in an easy-to-follow Learning Hub.

Stay informed

Get a concise weekly summary of new audits, budget changes, and county data — straight to your inbox. No account required.